Something Old

In my first post I showed you what I called my first refashion, but that wasn’t true.  I had forgotten about a series of refashions I did last year with my husband’s old clothes.  Let’s take a look!

IMG_20150103_120626086[1]

It’s easy to make something when you start with 3x tall men’s shirts.  Lots of fabric to work with.  I was also working without a dress dummy, so for me the fitting was hit or miss.  I love having my twin, Maddy, to work on now!

IMG_20150106_132802037[1]

So you can see that I started with a basic t-shirt, just to give it a try.  Not a flattering fit, but I made something!  Yay me!  I wanted something to wear at my greenhouse job that I could muck up and not care too much, but it was too big by the time summer came around.  Yay me, again!

IMG_20150107_095058426[1]

This picture makes me look tiny, but seriously.  That’s a *big* shirt. I decided to try something a wee bit more complicated with this one.

IMG_20150108_125356323[1]

I loved it, wore it twice.  The fabric was just a bit too thick and didn’t drape as well as I would have liked.  Still, fun to make.  I don’t have a lot of experience with knit fabrics so a good learning experience.

IMG_20150109_132040180[1]

See the cashews?  Love ’em!  🙂

IMG_20150113_093326407[1]

Looks okay on the hanger, doesn’t it?  You know how it fit?  Awful!  Know why?  This is when I realized that for weeks I had been using the wrong seam allowance on all of my projects.  This shirt really demonstrated why that was a problem.

IMG_20150128_085225967[1]

And just for fun, I tried my hand at one of Hubby’s button-down’s.

IMG_20150131_152603286[1]

You can see how this one doesn’t fit perfectly, either, but I enjoyed making it!  The neckline gapes, and it’s too tight around the tummy.  But it’s an entirely new shirt for nothing more than a little labor!  Now that I have my dress dummy I might try something like this again.

I have one more refashion that I just finished that I’ll be sharing next week.  After that I’ll be working on a big project (hopefully) that will take up some time.  More on that later!

 

One thought on “Something Old

Leave a Reply

