The Handmade Holiday, Part One

I think I mentioned previously that I had declared 2016 as a handmade holiday, or at least as much as possible.  I included some December birthdays in that declaration, so now we all know just how crazy I really am.  It started with a crocheted scarf for my daughter, Sydney.  She loves green, and although I’ve never made anything like that I thought I had found a stitch that worked for me.  Check out the link: Slip Stitch Fabric


This took so much longer than I thought it would.  It’s a simple stitch, but very dense.  And I have no experience with a project this size.  I used two skeins of Caron Simply Soft Camo because frankly it was the right color, but more importantly it was the right price.  I think I’m starting to understand why so many of you experienced knitters and crocheters are fiber snobs.  I didn’t want to spend too much on the yarn and end up not finishing the project, which was a real possibility.  But this stuff was a bitch to work with.  More than it should have been.  The good news is that I finished in time, and Sydney loved it.  She wears it all of the time.


Coming up next, Emma’s birthday!

 

Leave a Reply

